

Election announcement Election of the Student Parliament of the BTU Cottbus - Senftenberg for the legislative period 2025-2026

From June **13** to **20**, **2025**, **at 2:00 pm**, the election of the Student Parliament of the BTU Cottbus - Senftenberg for the legislative period 2025-2026 takes place. All students of BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg registered in the electoral register are eligible to vote.

The Student Parliament (StuPa):

The StuPa is the highest decision-making body of the student body. It typically consists of 30 members. Their term of office is one year. Their work is voluntary and unpaid, except for their position as a member of the Presidium.

Candidates:

All members of the student body of BTU Cottbus - Senftenberg who are registered in the electoral register are eligible to stand for election.

Candidates can apply by sending an email to the election committee (wahlkommission@stupabtu.de), who will then enter their name in the electoral register, **or by self-registration**. The electoral register is available at the Student Council, Hubertstraße 15, 03044 Cottbus. Registration takes place during opening hours.

The following information must be submitted with the candidacy:

- 1. Name of the list
- 2. Name and first name of the student
- 3. Student's course of study
- 4. Address of the student
- 5. Optional: Telephone number and email address of the student
- 6. Optional: A photo of the student and a letter of motivation (will be published on the StuRa website)
- 7. Signature of the student

The electoral register will close on **June 6**, **2025**, **at 2:00 pm**. Nominations must be submitted on time and in the correct format. The candidates will be published on **June 10**, **2025**, at <u>www.stura-btu.de</u> after the electoral register has been reviewed. Candidates can only be submitted by email if a scanned document containing all the required information and a valid signature is enclosed, as described in the "**Candidates" section**.

Electoral regulations:

The electoral regulations governing this election are available during the opening hours of the Student Council at the Cottbus office, Hubertstraße 15, 03044 Cottbus. The election regulations and further information about the election can also be found online at *www.stura-btu.de*.

Access to the electoral register:

Only persons registered in the electoral register have the right to vote and to stand for election.

Students should send an email to **wahlkommission@stupa-btu.de** requesting a check to see if they are on the electoral register. This requires information such as first and last name, date of birth, and course of study.

The first and last name of the person to be verified must match the BTU email address. Inquiries and objections must be submitted by 2:00 pm on June 6, 2025.

Voting:

Elections are general, free, equal, secret, and direct. The election will be conducted according to the principle of personalized proportional representation (according to the electoral regulations of the student body of BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg as of July 13, 2021). However, if certain conditions according to the electoral regulations are met, the election will be conducted according to the principle of personal election instead of personalized proportional representation.

The online voting procedure will be used. Each person on the electoral register on the deadline will receive an email with a voting link sent to their BTU email address on election day. Only one vote can be cast for a list or for one candidate.

Results:

The election results will be determined at a meeting of the Election Commission on June 20, 2025. This meeting will take place starting at 4 pm. in the office of the BTU Student Council, Cottbus campus, Hubertstraße 15, 03044. A publication will follow shortly.

Objections:

According to the electoral regulations, objections must be submitted within three working days after the announcement of the results. Objections can be submitted to the Election Commission within 14 days of the results. The exact time will be published in the announcement of the results. Objections can be sent by email to **wahlkommission@stupa-btu.de**.

Constitution of the Student Parliament:

The inaugural meeting of the Student Parliament 2025-2026 will take place on Tuesday, July 8, 2025, at 6:30 pm. in Senate Hall HG, Room 4.40, on the Cottbus Central Campus. Online participation will be available at the same time. The link will be published in due course at *www.stura-btu.de*.

The Election Commission

Cottbus, May 22, 2025